MEDA301 · Uncategorized

learning to rotoscope day 14; reflection

I’ve completed my third official rotoscope ‘Glasses‘ concluding my first process of tracing for creating rotoscopes. Next week I will be beginning to experiment with different processes, and I have found a new forms of rotoscopes in researching other art styles like watercolour and shading with pencils to create texture.

Rotoscope from Yas-no on Vimeo.

Rotoscope from Eloise Bento on Vimeo.

Observing other art styles has helped enlighten me as to how i can make these pieces more engaging. I was very captivated by incorporating the rotoscopes over real life videos, as Jo Law has used. She showed me some of her videos that used short snippets of rotoscope animation throughout it. (starting at 1:00)

Still Life Moving Fragments, Tin Sheds Gallery from Jo Law on Vimeo.

Rain Water: River otters sacrifice fish from Jo Law on Vimeo.

Major Cold: Streams and marshes frozen solid from Jo Law on Vimeo.

